Motor Vehicle

Register your car, truck, or motorcycle with the Town Clerk or Tax Collector at Town Office.

The excise tax is based on the MSRP of your vehicle and is determined using the VIN.

Bring proof of insurance and odometer reading (mileage).  Check should be payable to “Town of Sweden”.

Boat

Maine Boating Laws and Responsibilities
Maine Boating Laws and Responsibilities

Register your boat with the Town Clerk or Tax Collector at Town Office. Registration is not required for canoes or non-motorized row boats.

If new, bring proof of sales tax paid, age of boat, horsepower, and boat length.

The excise tax and registration fees based on horsepower, length, and age of boat. Boats used in fresh water require an additional fee of $10 required to support milfoil prevention efforts.

Registration fees for Sweden property owners is lower than for others.

The Town of Sweden does not participate in the online boat renewal system.

ATV

ATV & Snowmobile Law Book
ATV & Snowmobile Law Book

If new, bring proof of sales tax paid; there is no yearly excise tax.

New registrations for Maine residents must be done through the Town Clerk at Town Hall. Maine residents renewing a registration may do so at the town hall or online.

Non-residents may register and renew online.

Registrations are valid from July 1st through June 30th. ATV registrations submitted on or before April 30th will expire on June 30th of the current year. ATV registrations submitted on or after May 1st will expire on June 30th of the following year.

  • $34 (Resident)
  • $54 (Non Resident 7 Day Registration)
  • $69 (Non Resident Full Season)

Snowmobile

If new, bring proof of sales tax paid; there is no yearly excise tax.

New registrations for Maine residents must be done through the Town Clerk at Town Hall. Maine residents renewing a registration may do so at the town hall or online.

Non-residents may register and renew online.

Registrations are valid from July 1st through June 30th. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or before May 31st will expire on June 30th of the current year. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or after June 1st will expire on June 30th of the following year.

  • $46 (Resident)
  • $50 (Non Resident 3 Day Registration)
  • $76 (Non Resident 10 Day Registration)
  • $100 (Non Resident Full Season)